..:: audio-music dot info ::..

Main Page    The Desert Island    Copyright Notice
Aa Bb Cc Dd Ee Ff Gg Hh Ii Jj Kk Ll Mm Nn Oo Pp Qq Rr Ss Tt Uu Vv Ww Xx Yy Zz


 B i o g r a p h y

Masterplan is a German power metal band founded by Uli Kusch and Roland Grapow upon leaving Helloween.

Masterplan was formed by Roland Grapow and Uli Kusch, after the two were fired from the power metal band Helloween. The first MCD Enlighten Me was released on November 18, 2002. Their first full-length album, Masterplan was released in 2003. The band then consisted of Grapow and Kusch with vocalist Jørn Lande. The main part of the keyboard lines on the album were arranged and programmed by Roland and Uli, while Children of Bodom keyboard player Janne "Warman" Wirman recorded some sessions for the album, but could not stay on as a full time member due to his commitments to Children of Bodom. Axel Mackenrott replaced him on tour and since then as a permanent member. Studio bassist Jürgen Attig (Casanova) helped with some bass lines on the recordings, but Grapow was the main bassist for the album. For tour and subsequent recordings, Jan-Sören Eckert (Iron Savior) was hired as a permanent member.

The band received the "European Border Breakers Award" in 2004 from the European Commission.

In January 2005 Masterplan released their second album, Aeronautics.

During the writing of the third album the band parted ways with singer Jørn Lande, citing "musical differences" as the reason for the split. The split was amicable enough that Jørn agreed to perform four previously arranged live appearances before departing although two of these were eventually canceled by the promoters.

On October 4, 2006 Uli Kusch announced his departure from the band in an interview with Darkside.ru. Although not discussing the details of what had happened, he mentioned the democratic principles of making decisions in the band as one of the reasons of his leaving - according to him, it often made getting a consensus nearly impossible. Three days later, Masterplan announced their new line-up through their official web site: Grapow, Mackenrott, Eckert, with new members Mike DiMeo (Riot, The Lizards) and Mike Terrana (ex-Artension, ex-Rage, Metalium). The band toured with Saxon as an opening act for Saxon's Inner Sanctum tour.

The band's third album, suitably titled MK II, was released on February 26, 2007. Andy Sneap, who produced the two previous albums, was utilized again when the album was recorded in September and October 2006.

On January 11, 2009, Mike DiMeo confirmed on his MySpace page that he had parted ways with Masterplan. On July 25, 2009, the band finally revealed that Jørn Lande has made his return to Masterplan.

On February 10, 2010, the band announced that they've completed their 4th album. It will be called Time To Be King and it will be released on May 21st via AFM Records. On April 16, there will be an EP titled Far From the End of the World released to preceed the album.


Official Homepage: www.master-plan.net

 A l b u m s

Time to be King (AFM Records, 2010)