..:: audio-music dot info ::..

Main Page    The Desert Island    Copyright Notice
Aa Bb Cc Dd Ee Ff Gg Hh Ii Jj Kk Ll Mm Nn Oo Pp Qq Rr Ss Tt Uu Vv Ww Xx Yy Zz


 B i o g r a p h y

Plainly speaking, Adiemus can perhaps most conveniently be summarized as a "new age" or "progressive" Karl Jenkins musical project, though their music is not easy to categorize, incorporating elements of classical, opera and even tribal music. Karl Jenkins is the composer, conductor and all-around nexus of the ensemble. Miriam Stockley is the lead vocalist, with Mary Carewe providing harmonies in the choruses on three of the Adiemus albums. The music is performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra on the first three albums and the 'Adiemus Orchestra' on The Eternal Knot. Other participants in Adiemus include Mike Ratledge (programmed percussion on Songs of Sanctuary), Pamela Thorby (recorder solos), and Jody Barratt-Jenkins (electro-acoustic percussion). A collection of additional "Adiemus Singers" have performed in various combinations on Dances of Time and in live performances. On Dances of Time, they include: Annamari Kähärä, Mia Simanainen, Nina Tapio, Mervi Hiltunen, Säde Rissanen, Mia Simanainen and Riikka Väyrynen. Other Adiemus singers include: Hanna-Riikka Siitonen, Hanna Kaila, Pirjo Aittomäki, Merja Rajala, Veera Railio.

There are no lyrics, per se, in their music. Karl Jenkins states in the booklets for Songs of Sanctuary and Cantata Mundi that the text is "an invented language". (The word Adiemus itself is not Latin, but is, according to Jenkins, invented as part of his sound-language.) He writes, "The text was written phonetically with the words viewed as instrumental sound, the idea being to maximise the melisma (an expressive vocal phrase) by removing the distraction, if one can call it that, of words.".

Photo: Karl Jenkins

 A l b u m s

Journey: Best of Adiemus (Virgin Records, 2000)